First Impressions

Detail of a C. E. Brock illustration for the 1...
Image via Wikipedia

It’s 5:32am.

I am putting breakfast on the stove, still in my PJs and with a spectacular case of bedhead. I’ve propped my laptop on the counter and am watching Elizabeth Bennet reject Mr. Darcy’s blundered proposal for the 422nd time. I do not have to look up to picture every tiny flare of Colin Firth’s proud nostrils. This is fortunate – otherwise I might chop my fingers instead of the green onions.

Every day before I face the world, I seek the wisdom and wit of two writers. The first is the Author of Life. The second is the author of Pride and Prejudice. Okay, so I know WWJD does not stand for “What Would Jane Do?” But as a Christian and a bibliophile, I look for Christian meaning in everything I read, secular books included. And I compare my life to Jane Austen novels at least once a week.

For Christian readers who love to overanalyze, welcome to my blog.  It will not be exclusively about Jane, but don’t be surprised if she crashes the party (the ball?) more than anyone else.  Other period and/or British writers like Elizabeth Gaskell and Charlotte Bronte will make appearances as well.

Thought #1:

“Life seems but a quick succession of busy nothings.”

Jane Austen

I love this quote. There is something, however, that bothers me about the futility of a life full of “busy nothings.” If God knows our every day ahead of time, if He laid out work for us before the dawn of time, then He can use even our “busy nothings” as “busy somethings.” Luther told us we can “milk cows for the glory of God.” Well then, I can read Jane Austen for the glory of God. All the little nothings of my life, the traffic jams, the encounter with the frazzled clerk at Meijer, the jammed stapler on my desk, the kids’ plays I attend, all these busy nothings really turn into busy somethings depending on how I handle them. I do believe God wants us to do grand things. But I also believe we can find him in the minutiae of life. In the busy nothings.

Thought #2:
The only thing better than reading Jane Austen is reading Jane Austen with a scone in hand. Ooo, and a sizeable dollop of Devonshire cream.  (Click for a great recipe.)

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “First Impressions

  1. righteouschoices

    Your speaking my language…I “absolutely adore” (British accent) Jane Austen’s work, Pride and Prejudice and Sense and Sensibility. I like Masterpiece Theater as well.

Leave a Reply

